A few thoughts from Jean Hamburger

hello, there is an author and medical researcher I profoundly love whom I have yet to have found translated, SO I thought I would dedicate some time to try to share his beautiful mind. His thoughts are as relevant for the medical field as they are for the design field:

ON SCIENTIFIC RESEARCH:

“I’ve often thought about the role that I would be playing in this ordeal. I saw myself as an observer. Daunted by the abstract theories, I was most attracted by the direct knowledge that sight, touch, and patience could grant me, I knew my life’s work would be that of a naturalist, one who observes nature, with no need to rush to conclusions. I was convinced that to understand the mechanism of a disease, I should first of all understand the mechanism of the state of normalcy. I was also convinced that complex beings like humans would let themselves be deciphered more easily if I were to first examine simpler organisms.”

“In biology and medicine, research strictly programmed to achieve a precise objective is the best way not to reach it, whereas open-ended research has given, gives and will give more fruitful results.”
“Men thought they would find in the same place their ethics and metaphysics. It was the time of traditional values, the respect of scholarly knowledge, the concept of blind obedience to the monarch, the love of the country, the blind faith were all starting to lose a bit of their reassuring halo. Can’t science be a beacon of hope, and replace these beliefs?

[No] Instead it is a treasure and invaluable richness to witness the diversity of human customs and ways. […] What unites us is the human consciousness not what paths it takes.”

ON REASON and PASSION

“[reason-based observations] demand a sense of humility towards the facts. They attribute no scale of value to the results found. There are strict boundaries to its discoveries, and aspire in no way to address our need for “deeper truths.” They yield results relative to their [original hypothesis].”

“[passion-driven observations] unlike the former (reason-based observations), they have no conflict with set principles, […] they can attribute value to anything they find (even the slightest detail)”

 

 

Leave a Reply

